Wednesday, October 6, 2021

NYCC 2021: The Harvey Awards Announce 5 Hall of Fame Inductees

The Harvey Awards logo

The Harvey Awards
today revealed this year’s inductees into the Harvey Awards Hall of Fame in advance of the digital event to be livestreamed during New York Comic Con. The 2021 Harvey Awards find five recipients being honored: legendary manga artist Rumiko Takahashi (Urusei Yatsura, Inuyasha), renowned horror illustrator Bernie Wrightson (Swamp Thing), painter and cover artist Jeffrey Catherine Jones, award-winning comic book artist Barry Windsor-Smith (Conan the Barbarian, Weapon X), and Michael Kaluta (The Shadow, Starstruck).

2021 inductee Rumiko Takahashi said: “Thank you so much for this wonderful award. I am so honored the American readers have enjoyed my work. Through the medium of manga, I am so happy I am able to communicate with all of you. The world is in hardship due to Covid, but I hope my manga can provide some comfort.”

"I am delighted to see Bernie's accomplishments in the field of comics and illustration honored by the Harvey Awards committee. His legacy continues to burn bright, and his memory lives on in our hearts," said Liz Wrightson, wife of inductee Barrie Wrightson.

The Harvey Awards Hall of Fame inductees will be recognized at the 33rd annual awards ceremony during a virtual screening on Friday, October 8 during New York Comic Con 2021.

The Harvey Awards Steering Committee is co-chaired by Nellie Kurtzman, John Lind, and Chip Mosher. Chris D’Lando and Camilla Di Persia of ReedPop and Eden Miller are coordinating this year’s awards. For more information about Harvey Kurtzman and the Harvey Awards, please visit

All the toy images you can handle!

No comments :

Post a Comment